Your search results

Hidden Page With Old Stuff For Reuse

The Autumn 2020 Forum newsletter has been distributed.   In a period of coronavirus challenges and restrictions throughout the heritage sector, it is inspiring to read about so many exciting projects taking place within Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland.

Sign up for future editions, email


The Queen’s Award For Voluntary Service

Forum members might wish to consider encouraging supporters to nominate them for the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS), which is the highest award given to local volunteer groups across the UK.  It is the MBE for volunteer groups and is awarded for life.

It is awarded to outstanding groups of volunteers whose level of initiative and impact are truly exceptional.  The group must provide a specific local benefit such as preserving the local heritage and environment.  Nominations for the 2022 Award can be submitted from 1 April 2021 until 5pm on 15 September 2021.


Entries 31st January 2021, Virtual Awards Night 15th April 2021

18 of our members submitted 43 entries across the various categories.  The standard is always very high, so the judges will have had a tough time determining the winners.  Join us for the awards night (via Zoom) for the opportunity to learn about the exciting projects completed by our members.  Entrants:
  • Anstey Local History Society
  • Burbage Heritage Group
  • Charnwood Museum
  • Coalville Heritage Society
  • Community Curators (LCC Participation Team, Communities and Wellbeing)
  • Cotesbach Educational Trust
  • Diseworth Heritage Trust
  • Documentary Media Centre
  • Greater Wigston Heritage Centre / Historical Society
  • Leicester Transport Heritage Trust
  • Llynda Baugh – Spiral Projects
  • Loughborough Bellfoundry Trust
  • Moira Furnace Museum Trust
  • Pudding Bag Productions
  • Railway Vehicle Preservations Ltd.
  • Sir John Moore Foundation
  • St Helen’s Heritage Project
  • Swannington Heritage Trust

Invitations have been sent to all member organisations, email if you believe yours has not been received.

Award Categories

Organisations enter as many of the eight themed categories as they wished:

In addition organisations could enter either the Museum or Heritage Group Of The Year categories

  • Museum Of The Year – for organisations that own, lease or rent a building or rent a building / site that is visited by the public – download Museum Of The Year Entry Form
  • Heritage Group Of The Year – for organisations that do not own, lease or rent a building / site that is visited by the public – download Heritage Group Of The Year Entry Form
None of the above forms have changed for the new date.  If you are wondering what to enter, look at the last awards for inspiration.


Awards Information

  • Updated 10th Sept 2020 – Awards Entry Information – details of how to enter the awards – download Awards Entry Information
  • Awards Criteria – questions the judges will be asking when assessing the awards – download Awards Criteria
  • Updated 10th Sept 2020 – Entry Summary – will be used by the judges when assessing the Museum and Heritage Group Of The Year categories, plus used by the Forum for the Awards Night Programme – download Entry Summary
  • Updated 10th Sept 2020 – Consent Form – enables the Forum to pass on your entry information to the judges, local councillors and the media – download Entry Consent Form